Follow

COLLABORATION FOR REVIT: HOW TO UPGRADE MODELS

When you transition from an older release of Collaboration for Revit to a newer release, you must upgrade the project and its Revit models. In the following workflow, you use the eTransmit add-in to upgrade all the Revit models at the same time in a Collaboration for Revit project. 

Solution:

There are two ways, one within Manage Cloud Models and the other with eTransmit. 

A) Upgrade the project via Collaboration for Revit.
  • In version of Revit that you are upgrading the project to click Collaborate tab > Manage Models panel User-added image (Manage Cloud Models). The project you are upgrading does not appear in the list. 
  • Click User-added image (Actions) and click Prepare Project for Upgrade. The upgraded project appears in the list. 
  • Select the project. 
  • Click Upgrade Project.
 
Warning: When you upgrade a project, the old project and its models are no longer accessible. You must initiate collaboration on each upgraded model in the new project before users can continue working.
  • Click Close. 
  • Open each model from the subfolder created by eTransmit and located inside the upgrade folder you created. 
  • Initiate collaboration on each model and specify the project name. 
  • In the Opening Worksets dialog, click OK. 
  • In the Transmitted model dialog, click Save this model as a central model in its current location. 
  • Reload links in the Revit models as needed. 
 

NOTE: Be sure to communicate to project team members that they should use the project and associated models in the newer release of Revit. Project team members must use the upgraded project and models when collaborating.

B) Using eTransmit:

1. Launch the older release of Revit.
2. Publish all the models in the project.

  • Click Collaborate tab > Manage Models panel User-added image (Manage Cloud Models) 
  • Select the cloud project you want to upgrade. 
  • Click User-added image (Actions) and click Publish All. 
  • Click Publish All. 
  • When the publish action is complete, the User-added image (Publish Latest) icon changes to the User-added image (Latest Version Published) icon. 
  • Exit Revit. 
     
3. Save the models from BIM 360 Team to your local workstation. 
  • Open the cloud project you want to upgrade. 
  • Verify that each model show the expected date from the publish (from the previous step)
  • Download each model in the project to save a copy to your local workstation.
  • Create a new folder and move all the models from the Downloads folder into the new folder.

Recommended: Open several of these models to do a spot check that the content is as expected. 

 

4. Launch the newer release of Revit. 
5. Use the eTransmit add-in to upgrade the models. 

  • If eTransmit is not installed, see Install Add-Ins for Revit
  • Click Add-In > eTransmit > Transmit model(s). For details, see Transmit a Revit Model
  • In the eTransmit dialog, under Select Revit model, click Browse folders, and browse to the folder that contains the models you downloaded.
  • Under Save model to, click Browse folders, and specify a new folder for the upgraded models.
Note: eTransmit upgrades each model in the source folder to the newer release of Revit. By creating a new folder for the upgraded models, the original models are preserved.
  • Make sure the option to create an output folder for each source model is disabled. 
  • Click Transmit model(s).
  • In the eTransmit dialog, click Open Folder to see a list of the upgraded models. If desired, open the .txt file to view the error report. Otherwise, click OK. 
 

Important: Upgrading models with eTransmit can be a time-consuming operation. You should consider completing the steps below during off-hours or overnight when there is decreased activity in Revit. 
  
Follow these steps to upgrade a Collaboration for Revit project and associated Revit models before you start working in a newer release of Revit. Note too that skipping any steps, doing things out-of-order, or not verifying success of each step along the way can result in a failed upgrade or loss of files.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.